Kubernetes 1.20 Release Information

Information regarding the current release cycle including important dates, Release Team contact information, tracking spreadsheets and more!

Kubernetes 1.20

Tracking docs

Guides

TL;DR

The 1.20 release cycle is proposed as follows:

  • Monday, September 14th: Week 1 - Release cycle begins
  • Tuesday, Oct 6th: Week 4 - Enhancements Freeze
  • Thursday, Nov 12th: Week 9 - Code Freeze
  • Monday, Nov 23rd: Week 11 - Test Freeze
  • Wednesday, Dec 2nd: Week 12 - Docs must be completed and reviewed
  • Tuesday, Dec 8th: Week 13 - Kubernetes v1.20.0 released
  • Thursday, Dec 17th: Week 14 - Release Retrospective

Timeline

What Who When WEEK CI SIGNAL
Start of Release Cycle Lead Mon September 14 week 1 master-blocking
Start Enhancements Tracking Enhancements Lead Tue September 15
Schedule finalized Lead Wed September 16
Team finalized Lead Friday September 18
1.20.0-alpha.1 released Branch Manager Tue September 22 week 2
Start Release Notes Draft Release Notes Lead Tue September 29 week 3
Begin Enhancements Freeze (EOD PST) Enhancements Lead Tue October 6 week 4 master-blocking, master-informing
1.20.0-alpha.2 released Branch Manager Tue October 13 week 5
1.20.0-alpha.3 released Branch Manager Tue October 20 week 6
1.20.0-beta.0 released Branch Manager Tue October 27 week 7
Begin Burndown (MWF meetings) Lead Mon November 2 week 8 1.20-blocking, master-blocking, master-informing
Call for Exceptions Lead Mon November 2
Brace Yourself, Code Freeze is Coming Comms / Bug Triage Mon November 2
1.20.0-beta.1 released Branch Manager Tue November 3
Docs deadline - Open placeholder PRs Docs Lead Fri November 6
Begin Code Freeze (EOD PST) Branch Manager Thu November 12 week 9
Burndown Meetings daily Lead Mon November 16 week 10
1.20.0-beta.2 released Branch Manager Tue November 17
KubeCon CloudNativeCon North America Starts Community Tue, November 17
KubeCon CloudNativeCon North America Ends Community Friday, November 20
Docs deadline - PRs ready for review Docs Lead Mon November 23 week 11
Test Freeze (EOD PST) Branch Manager Mon November 23
Docs complete - All PRs reviewed and ready to merge Docs Lead Wed December 2 week 12
release-1.20 branch created Branch Manager Tue December 1
release-1.20 jobs created Branch Manager Tue December 1
1.20.0-rc.0 released Branch Manager Tue December 1
v1.20.0 released Branch Manager Tue December 8 week 13
Thaw Branch Manager Tue, December 8
Release retrospective Community Thu December 17 week 14

Phases

Please refer to the release phases document.